Safety http://ecmweb.com/taxonomy/term/6637/more en 2017 NESC Changes Seminar Offered in Oklahoma http://ecmweb.com/safety/2017-nesc-changes-seminar-offered-oklahoma <div class="node-body article-body"><p>The IEEE Tulsa Section and IEEE Region 5 Continuing Education Committee are sponsoring an 8-hour seminar focusing on the major changes in the 2017 edition of the National Electrical Safety Code (NESC).</p></div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/2017-nesc-changes-seminar-offered-oklahoma" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/2017-nesc-changes-seminar-offered-oklahoma#comments Design News Safety Training Wed, 24 May 2017 20:42:00 +0000 148711 at http://ecmweb.com Four Key Changes Proposed for the 2018 Edition of NFPA 70E http://ecmweb.com/safety/four-key-changes-proposed-2018-edition-nfpa-70e <div class="node-body article-body">Although not yet complete, indications are the 2018 Edition of NFPA 70E, Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace, will introduce entirely new workplace requirements for electrical workers. </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/four-key-changes-proposed-2018-edition-nfpa-70e" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/four-key-changes-proposed-2018-edition-nfpa-70e#comments Safety Silver Tue, 16 May 2017 21:34:00 +0000 148321 at http://ecmweb.com Successful Safety Training Strategies http://ecmweb.com/safety/successful-safety-training-strategies <div class="node-body article-body">Making a world-class safety training program available to employees requires a number of strategies as well as a huge amount of support from all sectors of the company. </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/successful-safety-training-strategies" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/successful-safety-training-strategies#comments Safety Silver Tue, 16 May 2017 21:26:00 +0000 148301 at http://ecmweb.com How to Improve Electrical Safety Compliance by 40% or More http://ecmweb.com/safety/how-improve-electrical-safety-compliance-40-or-more <div class="node-body article-body">Most companies trying to comply with electrical safety standards start with personal protective equipment (PPE) or a written program. </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/how-improve-electrical-safety-compliance-40-or-more" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/how-improve-electrical-safety-compliance-40-or-more#comments Safety Silver Tue, 16 May 2017 21:19:00 +0000 148281 at http://ecmweb.com Beyond Injury Prevention http://ecmweb.com/safety/beyond-injury-prevention <div class="node-body article-body">Despite the best efforts of the likes of OSHA, the U.S. Department of Labor, and the employers they oversee, workplace injuries remain an inescapable and unfortunate reality.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/beyond-injury-prevention" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/beyond-injury-prevention#comments Contractor Ops & Maintenance Safety Silver Tue, 16 May 2017 21:12:00 +0000 148271 at http://ecmweb.com Don’t Let Deadlines Push You to Make Bad Decisions http://ecmweb.com/blog/don-t-let-deadlines-push-you-make-bad-decisions <div class="node-body blog-body">I don’t think anyone wakes up one morning and says, “I’m going to make a bad decision today, and it’s going to result in a personal injury.” </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/blog/don-t-let-deadlines-push-you-make-bad-decisions" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/blog/don-t-let-deadlines-push-you-make-bad-decisions#comments Contractor Ops & Maintenance Safety Silver Industry Viewpoint Tue, 16 May 2017 16:00:00 +0000 148331 at http://ecmweb.com Baby Unconscious, Possibly from Electrical Shock Received at Carnival http://ecmweb.com/safety/baby-unconscious-possibly-electrical-shock-received-carnival <div class="node-body article-body">A 15-month-old girl has been hospitalized after being seriously injured at a carnival in Wichita, Kan. </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/baby-unconscious-possibly-electrical-shock-received-carnival" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/baby-unconscious-possibly-electrical-shock-received-carnival#comments Safety Tue, 16 May 2017 14:03:00 +0000 148361 at http://ecmweb.com Ingram Publishing/Thinkstock Trenching Safety, Part 2 http://ecmweb.com/safety/trenching-safety-part-2 <div class="node-body article-body">Many electrical jobs involve trenching. This work is potentially dangerous</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/trenching-safety-part-2" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/trenching-safety-part-2#comments Design Ops & Maintenance Safety Silver Tue, 16 May 2017 12:00:00 +0000 148401 at http://ecmweb.com eyjafjallajokull/iStock/Thinkstock Workplace Electrical Safety Standard Up for Public Review http://ecmweb.com/news/workplace-electrical-safety-standard-public-review <div class="node-body article-body">The new draft edition of CSA Z462 from CSA Group is now available for public review.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/news/workplace-electrical-safety-standard-public-review" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/news/workplace-electrical-safety-standard-public-review#comments News Safety Wed, 10 May 2017 14:28:00 +0000 148071 at http://ecmweb.com Test Your Electrical Safety Skills http://ecmweb.com/safety/test-your-electrical-safety-skills <div class="node-body article-body">May is Electrical Safety Month. Test your knowledge.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/test-your-electrical-safety-skills" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/test-your-electrical-safety-skills#comments Electrical Testing Safety Mon, 08 May 2017 12:02:00 +0000 147921 at http://ecmweb.com Wavebreakmedia Ltd/Wavebreakmedia/Thinkstock