NEC http://ecmweb.com/taxonomy/term/6614/more en Protecting Flexible Cords http://ecmweb.com/ops-maintenance/protecting-flexible-cords <div class="node-body article-body">The rules for protecting flexible cords [240.5] differ from those for protecting conductors [240.4]. </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/ops-maintenance/protecting-flexible-cords" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/ops-maintenance/protecting-flexible-cords#comments Design NEC Ops & Maintenance Silver Tue, 27 Sep 2016 11:00:00 +0000 140511 at http://ecmweb.com Milkare/iStock/Thinkstock Being Careful with Raceway, Part 4 http://ecmweb.com/design/being-careful-raceway-part-4 <div class="node-body article-body">Running raceway overhead means you must be aware of what is below</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/design/being-careful-raceway-part-4" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/design/being-careful-raceway-part-4#comments Design NEC Ops & Maintenance Silver Tue, 27 Sep 2016 11:00:00 +0000 140501 at http://ecmweb.com jordachelr/iStock/Thinkstock Code Quiz of the Week: No. 43 http://ecmweb.com/galleries/code-quiz-week-no-43 <div class="node-body gallery-body">Take this weekly quiz to test your knowledge of the 2014 National Electrical Code requirements.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/galleries/code-quiz-week-no-43" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/galleries/code-quiz-week-no-43#comments Quizzes Galleries Mon, 26 Sep 2016 12:26:00 +0000 140441 at http://ecmweb.com <p><em>Photo credit: Evgeniy1/iStock/Thinkstock​</em></p> 10 Ways Your Enclosure Installation Can Go Wrong http://ecmweb.com/galleries/10-ways-your-enclosure-installation-can-go-wrong <div class="node-body gallery-body"><p>It is a basic NEC requirement and common-sense notion that electrical splices and terminations are to be housed in an enclosure. </p></div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/galleries/10-ways-your-enclosure-installation-can-go-wrong" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/galleries/10-ways-your-enclosure-installation-can-go-wrong#comments Galleries NEC Fri, 23 Sep 2016 14:34:00 +0000 140411 at http://ecmweb.com What's Wrong Here? Hint: A pair of intruders http://ecmweb.com/whats-wrong-here/whats-wrong-here-hint-pair-intruders <div class="node-body article-body">How well do you know the Code? Think you can spot violations the original installer either ignored or couldn’t identify? </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/whats-wrong-here/whats-wrong-here-hint-pair-intruders" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/whats-wrong-here/whats-wrong-here-hint-pair-intruders#comments What's Wrong Here? Silver Thu, 22 Sep 2016 20:00:00 +0000 140171 at http://ecmweb.com Illustrated Catastrophes: Fire in the Hole http://ecmweb.com/violations/illustrated-catastrophes-fire-hole <div class="node-body article-body">Check out the latest Code violations</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/violations/illustrated-catastrophes-fire-hole" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/violations/illustrated-catastrophes-fire-hole#comments Violations Silver Thu, 22 Sep 2016 20:00:00 +0000 140161 at http://ecmweb.com What’s Wrong Here? Hint: “Wood” You Do This? http://ecmweb.com/whats-wrong-here/what-s-wrong-here-hint-wood-you-do <div class="node-body article-body">Think you know how this installation violates the NEC? </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/whats-wrong-here/what-s-wrong-here-hint-wood-you-do" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/whats-wrong-here/what-s-wrong-here-hint-wood-you-do#comments What's Wrong Here? Silver Thu, 22 Sep 2016 19:19:00 +0000 140311 at http://ecmweb.com Stumped by the Code? Defining Overcurrent http://ecmweb.com/qa/stumped-code-defining-overcurrent <div class="node-body article-body">Q. What does the Code mean by “overcurrent”?</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/qa/stumped-code-defining-overcurrent" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/qa/stumped-code-defining-overcurrent#comments Q&A Motors Design Silver Thu, 22 Sep 2016 19:00:00 +0000 140141 at http://ecmweb.com Article 695 and Fire Pumps http://ecmweb.com/code-basics/article-695-and-fire-pumps <div class="node-body article-body">In the NEC, the normal philosophy for circuit protection is to shut down equipment before allowing the supply conductors to overheat. </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/code-basics/article-695-and-fire-pumps" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/code-basics/article-695-and-fire-pumps#comments Code Basics Design Silver Thu, 22 Sep 2016 19:00:00 +0000 140131 at http://ecmweb.com Critical Code Requirements for Class II Hazardous Locations http://ecmweb.com/nec/critical-code-requirements-class-ii-hazardous-locations <div class="node-body article-body">It’s easier to contain dust than gas, so the requirements for Class II locations (ignitable dust) are not as rigorous as those for Class I locations (ignitable gas)</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/nec/critical-code-requirements-class-ii-hazardous-locations" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/nec/critical-code-requirements-class-ii-hazardous-locations#comments Design NEC Silver Thu, 22 Sep 2016 19:00:00 +0000 140121 at http://ecmweb.com