Basics http://ecmweb.com/taxonomy/term/6597/more en Being Careful with Raceway, Part 2 http://ecmweb.com/safety/being-careful-raceway-part-2 <div class="node-body article-body">Raceway is often run overhead. </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/safety/being-careful-raceway-part-2" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/safety/being-careful-raceway-part-2#comments Basics Contractor Safety Silver Tue, 23 Aug 2016 14:30:00 +0000 139361 at http://ecmweb.com moodboard/moodboard/Thinkstock Wiring Device Box Mounting Basics http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/wiring-device-box-mounting-basics <div class="node-body article-body">Doing a good job installing receptacles (and being quick about it).</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/wiring-device-box-mounting-basics" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/wiring-device-box-mounting-basics#comments Installation Tips Electrical Testing Mon, 22 Aug 2016 20:06:00 +0000 139311 at http://ecmweb.com Minimize Voltage Drop by Upsizing Your Conductor Size http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/minimize-voltage-drop-upsizing-your-conductor-size <div class="node-body article-body">A larger conductor means less voltage drop and higher efficiency.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/minimize-voltage-drop-upsizing-your-conductor-size" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/minimize-voltage-drop-upsizing-your-conductor-size#comments Basics Electrical Testing Design Thu, 11 Aug 2016 16:14:00 +0000 138871 at http://ecmweb.com Can You Depend on Your Tools? http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/can-you-depend-your-tools <div class="node-body article-body">Acquire the right high-quality tools, and maintain them with care.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/can-you-depend-your-tools" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/can-you-depend-your-tools#comments Basics Electrical Testing Fri, 22 Jul 2016 13:06:00 +0000 138211 at http://ecmweb.com Choosing the Right Cable Insulation for Medium-Voltage Installations http://ecmweb.com/basics/choosing-right-cable-insulation-medium-voltage-installations <div class="node-body article-body">As compared to small commercial and residential projects, choosing the appropriate power cable insulation for large industrial installations can be a bit more complex, especially for medium-voltage (MV) applications. For the purposes of this article, MV is defined as 2,001V through 35,000V. </div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/basics/choosing-right-cable-insulation-medium-voltage-installations" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/basics/choosing-right-cable-insulation-medium-voltage-installations#comments Electrical Jobs Today Basics Installation Tips Contractor NEC Ops & Maintenance Silver Tue, 19 Jul 2016 15:56:00 +0000 137941 at http://ecmweb.com Nine Sure Ways to Screw up a Switch Installation http://ecmweb.com/basics/nine-sure-ways-screw-switch-installation <div class="node-body gallery-body"><p>In its simplest form, an electrical switch is a humble device. For example, a single-pole, single-throw 15A snap switch consists of a pair of electrical contacts that can be opened or closed manually.</p></div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/basics/nine-sure-ways-screw-switch-installation" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/basics/nine-sure-ways-screw-switch-installation#comments Basics Galleries Contractor Ops & Maintenance Fri, 08 Jul 2016 14:04:00 +0000 137611 at http://ecmweb.com Recognized Versus Listed http://ecmweb.com/training/recognized-versus-listed <div class="node-body article-body">Programmable logic controllers (PLCs) are used extensively throughout the world</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/training/recognized-versus-listed" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/training/recognized-versus-listed#comments Basics Training Silver Mon, 20 Jun 2016 19:00:00 +0000 136881 at http://ecmweb.com Motor Wiring, Part 2 http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/motor-wiring-part-2 <div class="node-body article-body">Follow installation drawings, but if those aren't available, determine how many leads a motor has before installing it.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/motor-wiring-part-2" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/electrical-testing/motor-wiring-part-2#comments Motors Installation Tips Electrical Testing Training Tue, 24 May 2016 12:53:00 +0000 136151 at http://ecmweb.com Safe Design of an End-User Substation Ground Grid http://ecmweb.com/bonding-grounding/safe-design-end-user-substation-ground-grid <div class="node-body article-body">Obtaining reliable data from electric utilities about magnitude and duration of single-phase, line-to-ground fault currents at the service entrance of commercial and industrial facilities is of critical importance in the design of an end-user substation grounding grid.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/bonding-grounding/safe-design-end-user-substation-ground-grid" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/bonding-grounding/safe-design-end-user-substation-ground-grid#comments Bonding & Grounding Design Power Quality Safety Silver Wed, 18 May 2016 21:25:00 +0000 135801 at http://ecmweb.com The Case of the Utility Pole Predicament http://ecmweb.com/accidents-investigations/case-utility-pole-predicament <div class="node-body article-body">Utility poles typically feature a combination of power conductors and communication cables, such as phone or cable television.</div> <p><a href="http://ecmweb.com/accidents-investigations/case-utility-pole-predicament" target="_blank">read more</a></p> http://ecmweb.com/accidents-investigations/case-utility-pole-predicament#comments Accidents & Investigations Bonding & Grounding Silver Wed, 18 May 2016 20:15:00 +0000 135761 at http://ecmweb.com