Updating Test Equipment

4 replies [Last post]
mlamendola's picture

I don't have a horse in this particular race; that is, I don't represent any test equipment manufacturers or get any compensation from any of them. Yet, I am very impressed at the new equipment that's regularly introduced.
The new features often save time and improve safety. I hear that from actual users. When I worked in manufacturing as a plant engineer, it was hard to build a case with management to pay for new test equipment.
Does anyone have comments on this? Are there technical reasons to NOT upgrade? Are the technical reasons compelling for the technicians and electricians, but somehow that doesn't translate into a compelling case for the bean counters?
As an example of what I'm talking about, consider trying to buy a couple of power analyzers. The bean counters may ask what you hope to measure that you aren't measuring now and how that's going to pay for itself. What do you tell them?

rbarnett's picture

One thing for sure is test equipment is one heckuva lot safer than it used to be. My standard answer to the bean counters would be "energy savings, increased plant efficiency and reduced downtime."
Of course, it would help immensely to have some numbers to throw out.

PetrosA's picture

If it's the bean counters you're worried about, you need to take a pragmatic approach. Describe your need in detail, then offer a list of tools that would satisfy that need. If your old tools can do something similar, what will be the benefits to buying the new tool? Will it save time? How much time will it save? This will take some work on your part, but that's part of the game. I suspect "improving safety" may not be enough of an argument for them. Are the old tools unsafe? Do the old tools no longer comply with safety requirements that you need to meet? Give them facts.

mdshunk's picture